How Can We Help?

Preferred Volunteers for Participants

Preferred Volunteers are an optional feature that can help speed up the process of selecting volunteers for a participant and asking for volunteers for an opening. Many participants and volunteers want/need to work with each other for many different reasons: the volunteer is a caregiver for the participant, the volunteer has necessary skills needed to work with the participant, personal reasons, etc. Preferred Volunteers gives your team a way to quickly and easily know which volunteers are preferred for a participant.

There are a few things that you need to do in order to take advantage of preferred volunteers for participants. First, you need to add the preferred volunteers to the participant. To do this follow these steps:

Adding a Preferred Volunteer

  • Go to the Participants list page.
  • Find or search for the participant you want to work with and click on the turquoise arrow on the right to view their information.
  • Edit the participant by clicking on the Edit button at the bottom.
  • Scroll down to the Preferred Volunteers section
  • There should be No Preferred Volunteers for this Participant. Use the drop down “Select a Preferred Volunteer to Add” to select a volunteer as a preferred volunteer and click on the Add button.
  • The volunteer will now show up as a Preferred Volunteer.
  • Continue adding all of the volunteers that should work with this participant.
  • That’s it! You’re ready to use this participant’s preferred volunteers.

NOTE: Volunteers can only be a preferred volunteer once per participant but can be a preferred volunteer for more than one participant.

NOTE: availability and approvals will be handled accordingly when adding a volunteer. You don’t need to worry about it when adding a volunteer as a preferred volunteer.

Using Preferred Volunteers

There are 2 places preferred volunteers are used at this time: when adding a volunteer to a participant volunteer role (ex. adding a Sidewalker) and Asking for Volunteers for an open volunteer role for a participant.

When adding a volunteer:

Follow the normal steps to find an event that has a participant that has preferred volunteers. NOTE: if a participant does not have any preferred volunteers, you won’t see any changes from before. When you click on a volunteer role that is open, it will pull up a list of volunteers that are available and approved.

If a participant has preferred volunteers they will appear in an alphabetical list at the top under Preferred Volunteers. All other volunteers will show up below that under Other Available Volunteers. Select the volunteer you want to add.

NOTE: not all of the preferred volunteers may show up. This is because they are either not approved for the selected role or are not available.

When Asking for Volunteers

Go to an event that has openings for a participant with preferred volunteers. NOTE: if a participant does not have any preferred volunteers, you won’t see any changes from before. Click on the Ask for Volunteers button and select the volunteer role you want to fill. Click on the Find Volunteers button and Wranglr will pull up a list of all of the available and approved volunteers for this opening. Expand the SHOW/HIDE X VOLUNTEERS WHO WILL GET THIS MESSAGE. An area will expand showing the Preferred Volunteers at the top. The rest of the volunteers will be below. The preferred volunteers will be pre-checked so you can quickly have them ready to send a message asking for help. NOTE: if there are no preferred volunteers then all of the other volunteers will be pre-checked as it was before this feature was added.

NOTE: not all of the preferred volunteers may show up. This is because they are either not approved for the selected role or are not available.

Removing a Preferred Volunteer from a Participant

While editing the list of preferred volunteers you will see a red button on the right to remove a preferred volunteer. Clicking on this will give you an opportunity to put in a reason why you are removing them. Enter your reason, if needed, and click the Save Note and Remove button. The volunteer will show up as removed with the note you entered.

You can restore that volunteer as a preferred volunteer at any time by clicking on the green Restore button.

You’ll need to update all of your participants with their preferred volunteers but once you have that done, this feature should help speed up the process of adding volunteers and asking for help.

Table of Contents